Billy Talent

Billy Talent is a Canadian punk rock band from Mississauga, Ontario. It was formed in 1993 with Benjamin Kowalewicz on vocals, Ian D’Sa on guitar, Jon Gallant on bass, and Aaron Solowoniuk on drums. No formation change was made until Aaron’s departure in 2016. He was replaced with Jordan Hastings of Alexisonfire. In 13 years of existence, Billy Talent has sold more than a million albums in Canada, and nearly three million globally.

Members met and played at Our Lady of Mount Carmel Secondary School under the name of Pezz. They remained underground in the Toronto independent music scene until 2001. The group renamed itself to Billy Talent because of copyrights issues. They then signed a contract with Warner Music Canada and became popular.

I took pictures of Billy Talent on October 18, 2004 during their live show at Red’s in West Edmonton Mall, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada:



Alexisonfire is a post-hardcore band from St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada. The band was formed in 2001.

Alexisonfire has five members. They describe their music as aggressive and full of energy. An exclusive sound, especially thanks to the multiple range of several unique singers.

Dallas Green provides melody with his soft vocals. George Pettit is the opposite with his explosive screams, and with the punk rock vocals of Wade MacNeil, this all forms a one-of-a-kind mix.

As clarified by the band, the name is pronounced “Alexis On Fire” and not “Alex Is On Fire“. It pays tribute to the stripper and porn actress Alexis Fire. She threatened to sue when she found out, but since she never trademarked the name, no lawsuit came to be.

In early August 2011, Alexisonfire disbanded, but in early March 2015, the band announced on their Facebook page that once again they were going to tour.

I took the pictures of Alexisonfire during their live show at Red’s in West Edmonton Mall on April 10, 2005.


Agnostic Front

Agnostic Front is an American hardcore punk band from New York, founded in 1980. They laid the foundation for the hardcore genre, New York branch, and pioneered crossover thrash, the style of combining hard punk with metal.

The band ranks among the most prominent representatives of specific New York hardcore alongside Sick of it All and Madball (Madball’s singer Freddy Cricien is the brother of Agnostic Front’s singer Roger Miret).

Agnostic Front has gone through a number of members in all positions and at the end of 1992 the band broke up. They resumed their activities in May 1996. Since their inception they have released 11 studio albums, 1 compilation, 5 EPs, 4 live albums and 3 DVDs.

I took the pictures of Agnostic Front during their live show in Starlite Room in downtown Edmonton on May 11, 2005.